Day 7- January 7th 2011

End result of double page spread

Day 7- Milliande told us:

~create an art journal page with a STRIPEY WINDOW CUT OUT

I don’t rightly know what I was thinking about this page because it’s kind of not really a stripey window.. except that what is through the window IS stripey.

I started the background with the idea to make it look like a brick wall.. I gave up on the idea pretty quickly, but I did like the Orange colour I came up with its a warm colour. I printed the zebra off google images and then coloured them in. Plus I got so fed up with my windows not working my Bloke stepped in and drew them up for me so this one is a joint effort. Thank Goodness for having an Engineer for a husband! I then cut the middle of the windows out so that I could put the zebra behind the page.

Title page

Peek-a-boo I see four Zebra!

I was happy with how this one turned out although it’s a very lean page there’s not too much on the pages, sometimes I like minimal.

For this project I used:

  • Acrylic paints to create orange background
  • printed Zebra pictures
  • sharpie pens
  • lettering stencil
  • foam flowers
  • Sequins
  • Gesso
  • glue

 For more journalling prompt ideas visit Milliande’s site:

http://www.milliande.com/art-journal-january-2011.html

Leave a Reply

