Bel Far Niente- Part two.

She is also known for white flowers....... these are frangapani

She is also known for white flowers……. these are frangapani

And here she is in her new home at Bel Far Niente

And here she is in her new home at Bel Far Niente

Or so I thought...

Or so I thought…

Shells and pearls are her gift from the sea

Shells and pearls are her gift from the sea

Pearls around her neck.

Pearls around her neck.

So I did manage to finish “Goddess Yemaya” whom is the goddess of the sea. Here is a little blurb about her….
Goddess Yemaya’s domain is water, rivers, and what is often considered the birthplace of all of life on earth – the oceans and the seas. She is specifically associated with the upper part of the ocean, which contains the most life. Her first gift was a shell so that her people would always be able to hear her voice. Her name Mother Whose Children are the Fish, denotes that her children are countless and further relates her infinite and all encompassing life giving aspect.
Her symbols and associations include, the sea/ocean, rivers and all bodies of water, the six-pointed star, pearls, cowrie shells, mother of pearl, sea shells, silver, Mother Mary, mermaids, the full moon, the crescent moon, white flowers, the number 7, and the colors blue and white. Yemaya is typically depicted as a mermaid or as a beautiful woman emerging from the sea – often with pearls pouring from her palms. She is sometimes referenced as wearing seven skirts of blue and white
. Taken from http://www.pyramidcompany.com/CJT/index_Page8610.htm

So when last I was here I showed the undercoated top half of her body, and I kept going I’m so proud with how she ended up finally… I left her sitting around for almost a week until I decided that she needed more and so I asked her “what else can I add?” and here is the final result….

Then when she was done or so I thought….. I added more…..

In the end I am happy with how Yemaya’s turned out, I can’t wait to see who visits me next!

Leave a Reply

