The Art Room Makeover

My Bloke picking up the stuff that once held the carpet down, I patched the walls!

My Bloke picking up the stuff that once held the carpet down, I patched the walls!

Spring Green for this wall, this wall will hold the wall unit and a corner bookshelf.

Spring Green for this wall, this wall will hold the wall unit and a corner bookshelf.

We have a Spare bedroom and for many years I’ve been wanting an Art Studio that I could escape to and paint and craft and let my mind go free, and for a while I was doing just that and then a “kid” decided to move back home so I packed all my stuff away and it was agreed by all that I could use a corner of the living room… well I set up the wall Unit with bits and pieces and moved my scrap booking things there and never used it more than once, A- it didn’t feel right and B- I couldn’t leave things and go away I was always conscious of “the mess” so for the longest time I did NO ART and then I wondered why I felt sad and “a little bit lost” I learnt to crochet and for a while that was fun and worked but I missed my pastels and paints etc.

So when “the Kid” decided to move on and I again had a free room I decided this time I’m claiming it before anyone else decides to move back in…… and so I did! But now the energy felt all wrong and then the room flooded and we had all kinds of dramas there and so another 12 months had passed and I REALLY miss my arty spot, so my Darlingheart has decided that he will HELP me to fix it and to try and annoy him (I was in a snippity mood) I said like a 10 yr old “I want every wall in MY room a different colour, I want to paint and then stencil the concrete floor, I want wall units and bookshelves and I want different sections for different crafts…….. on and on I went and he said “OK lets do it!” Hmmmm, I even took the door off and removed it and still he said nothing except “It looks bigger…. so it’s been sitting empty and things have been sanded and things have been taken apart to be “renovated” and sitting around for another few months… and we got “omportant” stuff done like new bamboo flooring and painting the main part of the house, and all THAT furniture has been piled down in my ART ROOM,finally now I am happy to report, I have a wall painted… yes! just one so far but it’s a HUGE step!!

I also have two bookshelves painted awaiting placement and two drawers from the desk painted they will also be multi coloured, I’m going for the crazy patch work look, lots of bright zany HAPPINESS type colours.

Leave a Reply

