Gifts from the Sea, a Creative Retreat.

I am thinking of calling it "Drifting away" but I also like "Goddess spies with her little eye..."

I am thining of calling it “Drifting away” but I also like “Goddess spies with her little eye…”

irst I started with a circle of board and painted it, see there were already "circles" on it

irst I started with a circle of board and painted it, see there were already “circles” on it

Then I saw this "eye" appear I believe the Goddesses were watching over this project.

Then I saw this “eye” appear I believe the Goddesses were watching over this project.

I have signed up to do this course with my only “real life” friend who does art, Suzana Gaal, her site is over here.. http://www.suzanagaal.com/2/post/2013/01/gifts-from-the-sea-a-creative-retreat-day-1.html

I’m terribly behind in fact I think today the last part of the class has been released it went for 10 days, I’m not sure if it’s an ongoing thing or not, but pop over to Suzana’s site and ask the question.

So I’ve finally managed to do part one which was “What gifts has the sea brought you” I love the sea, the beach, the crashing waves, the gentle lapping waves, the endless changing colours, the sand, the birds, the salty kiss of the wind,the way the waves chatter to you as they wash ashore over the rocks, I just love it. We have our little holiday place at St Leonards which we escape to as much as possible and I go for a beach walk and collect all kinds of “gifts from the sea” sea glss being a favourite, pretty rocks, the odd shell, and interesting drift wood, speaking of which, I have based the Crafting part of Class one on “Drifting away” it’s a spiral of drift wood, and I’ve painted the background and as I painted it I was surprised to see there without my trying was as perfect of an eye as I could have painted ever! SO I think the Goddess is watching over this project! Since I’ve started working with the Goddess within, I’ve become more and more attracted to Circles, this cardboard had circle imprints already and then I painted it with a spiral action and of course it’s cut into a circle, to remind us that all good things are cycling, energy,the seasons…

The clam shell I chose for the Goddesses Venus and Yemaya, they both are associated with Clam shells, Sea Glass (which does NOT look like whatever it begun its life as) to remind me how far I’ve come and how I changed from my original purpose,The rock I chose for the splash of pink, the feminine energies again? and the Sea Urchin shell, it’s obviously moved on and left it’s home, so I’m using this to represent the “new home” I am trying to attract into my life, it’s also absolute BEACHFRONT!! funny or sernedipidious how things happen.

We were also given some journal prompts which I’m not sharing here, but I’ll come back and add my arty pieces with this same heading… pop on over to Sunana’s site and tell her I sent you, you’ll love what she does!

2 thoughts on “Gifts from the Sea, a Creative Retreat.

  1. Dearest Kim,

    Thank you so much for sharing this beautiful piece ‘Drifting Away’ with me. I have posted it – with a link back to your blog – as a lovely ‘finale’ to the Gifts from the Sea creative retreat. It moved me quite deeply and I have created an ‘aesthetic response’ in the same post.

    I look forward to witnessing more of your creative meditations from Gifts from the Sea…

    PS. I’m also loving witnessing your Painting the Goddess Within journey.

    • Thank you Suzana, i love sharing my work with you, being the only REAL life arty friend I have lol… I’ll be posting a piece soon that was very hard to birth,,,

Leave a Reply

