Blogtoberfest 2014- Day 5-

Blogging!

Blogging!

http://shellsinthebush.blogspot.com.au/p/blog-page.html

Monday:  Mosaic Monday – make a photomasiac to show and write about
 
Tuesday: Talkative Tuesday – tell us about yourself

Wednesday: Wordless Wednesday – post a photo and no words

Thursday:  Thankful Thursday – write about what you are thankful/grateful for, Throwback Thursday

Friday: Friends on Friday – write about another creative you admire, Flashback Friday

Saturday: Some/Six/Seven Thoughts on Saturday

Sunday:  Sunday Snippets (started by {tinniegirl}) – My week in photos… A collection of photos from your week. No need for words. Let the pictures tell your story.


 

Today we started shopping for the babies 1 st birthdays..

When I say “the babies” I am of course referring to my Grand babies, and when I say it like that everyone thinks they are twins, but in fact Scarlett Olivia is actually 2 weeks older (to the day!) then her cousin Chase.

Scarlett’s Mum is my youngest daughter Amber and Chase’s Mum is my eldest daughter Jasmin. My girls have not previously been very close and can go for ages without speaking, so imagine the shock when within two weeks they both come and tell me “Mum I’m pregnant” Imagine my joy when both my girls want me to support them, as if I would ever say “no” I went to every Doctor appointment with both of them, I went to prenatal classes and on the big day I was there to hold the new arrivals. I have always said that I really fell in love the day Jasmin was born, as my first-born, she was the first of many things and a whole other level of “love” I ended up having four bundles of love, two girls then the two boys, and I thought that was it.. that was good, I am done. Until the night of 21st November 2013. Jasmin and I were with Amber we witnessed “natural ” labour and we laughed with her when the gas made her loopy and we both cried with her while we held her still to get an epidural.. she’s much braver than her Mum! But Jasmin was made to leave when the forceps got called into play and that just left two nurses, the Dr and Me with Amber.

Amber lost a lot of blood and her blood pressure dropped and she was pretty much out of it.. so the Nurses handed me this tiny scrunched up being and said “Here Grandma cuddle this and keep her warm” while they worked on Amber. Scarlett Olivia her name had been picked for months. Amber read it in a baby book I had picked the name when I was pregnant with Jasmin, Scarlett Olivia Hamilton ( Scarlett O Hara) same initials as my favorite movie heroine. I took one look at that tiny bundle and my heart skipped a beat I had to forcibly remind myself to breathe. It was 22 years since Amber had been born and she was nowhere near as small or as delicate as Scarlett. I held that little bundle for the first three hours of her life, and fell instantly in love. I spent the first night in hospital with Amber and Scarlett not that either of us slept much we just wanted to stare at perfection.

Two weeks later in very different circumstances Jasmin was admitted to hospital for a C-Section, due to Chase being backwards AND upside down and HUGE… so I had to sit in a tiny waiting room while they took Jasmin away to prepare her, a Nurse brought me scrubs and as I dressed in the plain pale blue shapeless scrubs I prayed with all my might because I knew how nervous Jasmin was and then I heard her laughing.. laughing?! really??I felt like I sat there for ages waiting for someone to come and get me and then a nurse  rushed in and said “We almost forgot you” and I was ushered in to sit by Jasmin’s head and instructed not to touch any of the sterile blue drapes. As I held her hand and listened I felt the bed being pushed and pulled and then the sound I dreaded.. the metallic ring of the forceps.. really?

“forceps?” I asked?

“hmmm ” the Doctor grunted “this little one is firmly wedged under Mum’s ribs” pushing, pulling and then

“You might feel some tugging, just keep breathing” he says. It;s no wonder women are so sore after having C-sections.. and then a burst of laughter, as we looked up there was the Doctor with some legs no head showing yet and stream of pee! “it’s a boy!” the Doctor announced. Finally he was free and brought to the table to be clamped and cord cut and wrapped.. almost immediately he started talking, he grumbled and chatted away eyes wide open looking around. I gasped because this BIG boy had the juiciest lips and the deepest dimples.. he was s perfect. But he was too heavy for Jasmin to hold in her position so again I got to hold him for the longest time while the Doctors worked down the other end sewing her up and tidying up. Finally just before Mum went to recovery Chase and I were taken to the ward, where Grandpa and Aunty Amber, Uncle Will and baby cousin Scarlett waited. Amazing.. within two weeks all of our lives had changed so much and all for the better.

Now it’s 10 month later and we are planning for first birthday parties. They are going to have a joint party because Scarlett doesn’t have many little people friends and it’ll be easier for family to come to one big party instead of two. So much has happened in the past 10 months and we have all loved every minute. I am enjoying being a Grandma, I make the most of every minute with them, I am so lucky that my daughters allow me to be a “hands on” Grandma and I hope I will continue to be for a long time.

Scarlett Olivia first photo shoot

Scarlett Olivia first photo shoot

Grandma;s Squishy!

Grandma’s Squishy!

KimsPhone2 545

Chase now 10 months

10624683_710340102389151_4420816250131310830_n

Scarlett now 10.5 months

 

 

Leave a Reply

