100 Days Walking with the Lord!

I can hardly believe it’s been that long since, I decided to start reading the bible. I really questioned myself about whether I had the stamina to do it, so I just thought I’d “give it a go” what I wasn’t banking on was the feelings that have been aroused in me. I FEEL different. I feel so much more calmer, I feel at ease with myself for the first time ever.

So far in my 100 days I’ve read and followed Rick Warren’s “Purpose Driven Life” that really got me started and I am glad I started with that one, Thank you Terri for suggesting starting there.

Then I did Jolene Engle’s “Wives of the Bible” series and I became a “Wife of integrity” or as I accidentally typed to my husband in a text message “WIDE” of integrity, we are still joking about that.

Next I did a “30 Day Husband Encouragement Challenge” and I really loved that, I slipped up one day and snapped at him, but my Integrity reminded me to go and apologise and explain and I did and I felt so proud of myself, see! I am telling you I am changing!

Then I discovered Courtney James and “Good Morning Girls” and a local Facebook group called “The Heart of Esther” and with them we have been working on little bible studies, so far we have read through..Esther 1-10, 1 Peter, 2 Peter, 1 John, 2 John, 3 John, Jude and then we started the Psalms, so I have read Psalm 1-10. Now we are working through the books of Genesis, and are currently up to Genesis 11. Each day we read a chapter and work through it using the S.O.A.P study method.

How to Use the SOAP Method to Study Scripture:

S – Write out the scripture that speaks to you from the passage.
O – Write down one or two observations from the passage.
A – Write down one or two applications from the passage.
P – Pray over what you learned from today’s passage.

And here was me thinking, I wouldn’t go the distance. Not only am I keeping up and continuing I am also asking different questions, and rather than take the easy way out and ask someone, I am looking up and researching the information for myself! Yay me!

I have also been reading lots, Pastor Frank has loaned me a selection of books, including “Lutheranism 101” and “Testament The Bible Odyssey” by Phillip Law, it’s the Bible written like a book for newbies like me to read easily. i liked it so much I brought my own copy so I can highlight and mark things.

I have also got another two of Pastor Frank’s books specifically about Martin Luther which I will start soon.

I am also currently doing a mini challenge with “Girlfriends in God” and they have asked us to read Psalm 139 every day for a month and then at the end of the month,  they want us to re write it in our own words and send it to someone, I will post mine here. I have been reading Psalm 139, morning and night, and there is a verse in there that is just screaming out for some art work.. I was hoping to do it today but I am really tired so I will hopefully get onto it tomorrow. Talking about Art, wow, reading through the Bible has been beneficial there as well. I used some scriptures and used them for illustration and did some zentangles, and sometimes when I am reading about a person in the Bible, I will “see” them in my mind, so I have been able to get a few of them painted..

So today to celebrate my first “100 days Walking with the Lord”, I treated myself to a small gift. I’ll post photos when it arrives!

So readers…. If you have a bible study or a favourite book you can suggest, please leave me a comment.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

