Blogtoberfest 2014- day 10- “Friends on Friday”

 

Blogging!

Blogging!


 

http://shellsinthebush.blogspot.com.au/p/blog-page.html
Monday: Mosaic Monday – make a photomasiac to show and write about
Tuesday: Talkative Tuesday – tell us about yourself
Wednesday: Wordless Wednesday – post a photo and no words

Thursday: Thankful Thursday – write about what you are thankful/grateful for, Throwback Thursday

Friday: Friends on Friday – write about another creative you admire, Flashback Friday

Saturday: Some/Six/Seven Thoughts on Saturday

Sunday: Sunday Snippets (started by {tinniegirl}) – My week in photos… A collection of photos from your week. No need for words. Let the pictures tell your story.


 

“Friends on Friday- write about another creative that you admire”

Technically she is my cousin, but she has always been my friend, sister, co-conspirer.

Her name is Lee and she is 20 months younger than me, when Lee was 6 yrs old her Mother (My maternal Aunt) died and Lee and I got closer. We have always lived around the corner from each other our whole lives, so when I left Richmond and moved to Preston, she did too, right around the corner. So when I left Preston to move to Sunbury, Lee took a detour but ended up in Sunbury, right around the corner in our  other house!

Luckily our blokes get along alright too,  because other wise it might make things hard. We brought an onsite caravan in St. Leonards they brought the one directly behind  us! So it made sense that sooner or later Lee would try art. Easter 2013 we were camping in Mansfield Victoria with some mutual friends and sitting around the fire wondering what we could do with ourselves. I had been taking an online course and was practising my faces and Lee said “Oh I can’t draw stick figures” to which I replied and have heard Lee repeat “its easy when you know how, simple rules and you won’t fail” little did I know the moster I was about to create!!

We started off with faces, simple easy to draw faces, then we both took a course with Kat McBride and learnt more faces, then Lee got into “you tube” and the world was her oyster. So that was March and April, in June that year for Lee’s birthday we took a real life painting class and walked away with a beautiful painting of “A Villa in Tuscany” and Lee had the bug, so before too long we had both signed up for “Rod Moore’s Art instructors course” we started off well, then I discovered I was going to become a Grandma and had hospital appointments to attend and baby showers to throw and births to attend. One of the babies and her Mum lived with us, so I was “hands on” from day one and I LOVED it except it left little time to get to the studio and get my landscapes done. These past 10 1/2 months have flown by and I have barely done any of my course, Lee on the other hand has become qualified and started teaching.

We have done the local markets together, I go as her side kick and “art student” she is the teacher and we do demos, plus I have attended a class held at Lee’s house and we painted “Uluru Dreaming”

You can see some of Lee’s art here: http://thatartplace.weebly.com or https://www.facebook.com/ThatArtPlaceSunbury

Lee is powering on and doing more courses and slowly changing her focus, she likes the zentangles and the more abstract pieces with whimsy girls, I STILL need to complete my course for certification and in the meantime, I try and snatch a few minutes to do something arty.

 

They say “you can pick your friends but you can’t pick your family” and if truth be known I’d probably pick her anyways!!

Currently I am enrolled in “21 Secrets- spring session” and “Kingdom Come” with Shonna and I am also involved in a bible journaling art class, but to be perfectly honest, I am not too fussed, because I am doing something far greater, I am moulding little people, today I taught a 10 month old “flowers” and to kiss, which was kinda cute. I taught his almost 11 month old cousin to say “Bubba”.

Yes fleetingly I do miss my art, and some days I would give almost anything to be able to wander down to my now junk filled studio and slap some paint around, but then I see a big dimply smile and he’s clapping hands because he sees “his Gramma” and I know I am right where I need to be, my art does not have a use by date..

The paints might dry up, or the glitter might fade, who cares, they are replaceable, my Grandchildren will not stay babies for ever!

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Blogtoberfest 2014- day 10- “Friends on Friday”

Leave a Reply

