Blogtoberfest 2014- Day 14- Two weeks down..

Blogging!

Blogging!

http://shellsinthebush.blogspot.com.au/p/blog-page.html

Monday: Mosaic Monday – make a photomasiac to show and write about
Tuesday: Talkative Tuesday – tell us about yourself
Wednesday: Wordless Wednesday – post a photo and no words
Thursday: Thankful Thursday – write about what you are thankful/grateful for, Throwback Thursday
Friday: Friends on Friday – write about another creative you admire, Flashback Friday
Saturday: Some/Six/Seven Thoughts on Saturday
Sunday: Sunday Snippets (started by {tinniegirl}) – My week in photos… A collection of photos from your week. No need for words. Let the pictures tell your story


 

Talkative Tuesday… tell us about yourself..

Now really… what women doesn’t like that offer?!

Today I had an appointment with “Priceline” they were offering “free” blood testing to check on Cholesterol and Sugar levels and Blood Pressure, as well as weight and height…So I am thinking to myself I’ve got this in the bag because we eat fairly healthily compared to some people we know, and yes currently I am carrying some extra weight due to “winter” it always happens each year ad then about Spring when the weather starts to warm up and I can get out of the house ( I HATE Winter, each year I try to make a pact to HATE it less but it usually fails, I am just not the Winter sort of person) the weight usually starts to move. So I went to this appointment this morning feeling positive, that didn’t last long.. Different scales resulted in a different weight than I would use at home AND I never weight myself with ALL my clothes on, so I didn’t like HER numbers..it showed (As I suspected) that I am over weight.. no surprise there. Next she did my Blood Pressure, I have never had high r even elevated BP ever, not even when I was pregnant with the children, today it was 136/ 99 so she suggested that my BP was high and possibly I should monitor that for a period over a week and see if it was a one-off or if it’s becoming the “norm”? and if it is then I will possibly need to take further action… As if I just keep a Blood Pressure machine at home?! So I asked her “Could the fact that I just walked down here 2.3 kilometers in 15 minutes have made a difference?” I mean I am not usually in a hurry but the wind was cold and the sky was grey and threatening rain so I hurried to avoid getting Chase wet in his pram! She agreed that could have affected the results a little… so I’m maybe not too worried about that number. Next she pricked my finger and tested my blood for Glucose and Cholesterol, these two numbers interest me and usually each year in January I go to my GP and have all the blood testings done so I can start the year off on a good note. My Father developed type 2 Diabetes in his early 50’s and she tells me “this type is not hereditary, it’s more life style and dietary” which in his case it was. BUT having had two Gestational diabetic pregnancies I am at a higher risk of developing it, so I try to keep a close watch on that number.

Usually I know that by loosing even 3- 4 kgs it makes a difference to my numbers, so I am not sure why today’s numbers surprised me seeing as I am carrying a few extra kgs. My Cholesterol numbers were 6.23 ( the nurse works at a leading Melbourne hospital and says “we don’t usually worry until it gets to 6.5, but yours is starting to creep up”!) So I don’t like that number and the  Blood Glucose was 5.9 and she said she wasn’t too concerned but again it’s creeping up. I asked her did she think that these numbers could be part of the reason why I am so tired? and she said “there are many reasons why and to start to rule any of them out I should go to the GP for a full blood work up” so I guess I am doing that sooner rather than January. So now I am tossing up this question in my head… Should I go and do the blood work now and get the numbers… and then lose the weight, OR Start losing the weight and then go get the numbers done?! many questions to ponder. My husband and family are like “go now!” and probably I will just to shut them up!

On a positive note though.. since I had to go down town and so my daughter Amber met me and we did some shopping so visited a few different shops, I did more walking than an average down town trip.. so today according to my “Fit Bit”  I have done ( as of 8.26 pm) 15, 744 steps and that equates to 10.89 kilometers, I am pretty happy with that! Apparently I need to aim for 10,000 or more steps 5 days per week… now I have my “Fit Bit” on I am sure I will… also now the weather is fining up it makes it much easier to get out and walk!

In the meantime… no more white bread, no more white flour, no more white rice  and no more white potatoes. That helps! Maybe I’ll start sharing some of my Bodytrim recipes with y’all!

 

Leave a Reply

