Blogging 101.. WordPress course I signed up for.

I sign up for these things and generally forget them, but I have been saving them in my inbox so I could come back later and go over them.. so today’s email says:

{It’s time to leave the confines of Blogging 101 to seek other opportunities (blopportunities?). From weekly iPhoneography challenges to monthly flash-fiction events, blogger-hosted events are fun, free, spirited ways to get even more feedback on your work, build your audience, and make friends.

Today’s challenge: pick a blogging event from the Community Event Listings to try for some instant community.

Why do this?

  • Events introduce you to a ready-made community, where it’s easier to find new fans and new favorite reads.
  • Events and challenges are a great way to get inspired and motivated — others establish and host the event, so all you have to do is participate! No heavy lifting required.

Take a look through the event listings: you’ll find photography and visual art events, writing events, niche events (such as travel and food events), and one-time challenges. Use the drop-down menus to sort by type of event or topic. Find one that’s a perfect fit, or use this as an opportunity to try something new. The listings are continually updated with new events.

You can also use the Reader to search — try “events” or “challenges,” or get more specific. Look for photo challenges, poetry events, recipe challenges — whatever your blogging angle is, someone’s running an event. If you’re feeling overwhelmed by options, try our weekly photo challenge.

If you find an event you think’d be great for other 101 bloggers, let us know in The Commons.

Happy blogging!}

So off I went like an obedient puppy and had a look at the “event listings

Uh OH… “big mistake.. HUGE mistake” to paraphrase Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman!

Because now there are lots more challenges for me to do.. I wonder how I’ll fit my life in?!?!

So here’s what I am signing up for so far…

Motivational Mondays– Because let’s face it no one likes Monday.. I wonder if we would like Monday more if the weekend started on Tuesday and Wednesday?! Poor Monday.. support for Monday please! Personally I like Mondays because it means all the family piss off and leave me alone.. off to school off to work off to their lives and leave me with mine. Anyways find out more about Monday’s at: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_event/motivation-mondays/    Motivational Monday comes with its own badge! badge-for-motivations-monday1

Tuesdays of texture- It’s on day a week.. might help my blog become more readable. We get to mess around with photos of texture.. I can do this like Bricks, or dirt, or bark or beach sand or beach shells or my favorite tree! Hey I’m giving away all my good ideas!  This Lady can’t go past a patch of Moss without taking a gazillion photos of it.. and here I was thinking I was the Only ONE!! Find out more here: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_event/tuesdays-of-texture/

This next one is a once a month thing… I will need to somehow keep track of this.. like in my daily planner LOL

Photo Blogging challenge Listed at the first of the month, you have all month to take FIVE photos of the Challenge prompt. Then on the last day of the month you post your challenge. Find out more about that here: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_event/photo-blogging-challenge-pbc/

That ought to keep me busy for a while, and hopefully make my blog postings more fun for people to want to read.

Oops.. found one more.. this is a personal favorite, I am ALWAYS taking “signs” photos…

{I would like to challenge you to take pictures of signposts and post it in a blog post. Title the post: Are we there yet? and add a photo of a signpost. To make it more fun please add your country and more or less where this signpost is. Please add a link to this page in order for others also to find this page and be part of the fun. If you would be so kind as to post a link to your page in my comments box it will be appreciated. Then I can see your great post as well. I will post the top 10 signposts every Sunday on my blog. I am excited to learn more about other countries and cultures. For the first week there is no theme. Just post any signpost that you see.}

Okay… no really that has to be enough.. I am STILL doing Fat Mum Slim‘s “Photo a Day Challenge” here is the December list…

december-photoaday-2-1024x1024

Plus on Sundays “Biblical Sunday” – I will still be updating my Bible Studies because I know a few people read those.

OH! And I forgot.. duh how could I forget! I signed up for another month-long challenge with NaBloPoMo.. December is all about JOY! I am hopeful that I can find some and take some photos of it to blog about..

DecemberNaBloPoMo2014-JOY

I am exhausted thinking about this… if it gets too much I can quit.. but if it doesn’t this blog will be hopping!! Come back and find out more!!

 

Leave a Reply

