NaBloPoMo December is joy… final December prompt.

DecemberNaBloPoMo2014-JOY

 Wednesday, December 31, 2014
What do you hope brings you joy in the coming year?

For the New year my word is “Deeper” I have been having this theme word before I even knew it was a “thing” a few years ago I started an art class and we had to meditate on a word.. back then mine was “flow” it seems I was too uptight and a perfectionista, so the word for last year was “flow” and I just went along with whatever came my way I did some weird and wonderful things that year. This year it seems to have worked so I went with “Continue” because the “Flow” had lead to some good stuff so I decided to “continue with the flow” lucky I did because it sure hasn’t turned out how I imagined it would and so I am glad I continued to flow because I’ve ended up in a whole other place, like a fish out of water, I’m flapping along and figuring it out as I go.

So when it came time t think of 2015’s word I chose “Deeper” time to get that flappy fish back into some water. This year while I was doing an art class, part of the meditation for the class involved taking ourselves into a place.. mine was a strange place, we had to enter through a door and mine was a very old stone wall with crumbling mortar and a very huge old wooden door with metal clasps and a huge metal door handle, upon entering  it was almost kind of like a conservatory, with a metal framed roof but it was open to the elements and was full of luscious green ferns and flowers of every description except every flower was a brilliant white colour, I mean so white it hurt your eyes and we were instructed (Guided meditation is best for me because other wise my mind tends to wander to the shopping list or the dogs barking) to look around our space and look for a creature or a “being”. The first time I went to my “Secret garden”  and sat by the fountain with the musical tinkling of the water, a huge pure white peacock came to me. This is not the first time a peacock had visited me in an art guided meditation  but this time it was pure white. The next time I went there and sat in the same place I don’t know if the meditation was slightly different or what happened but this time an Angel came.

Back track a little.. at the start of this art course we would do our meditation and then we would take the message we had received and  paint a layer of our painting. So all the layer were not actually how the painting would be at the end. At the stage of the Angel appearing I had a beautiful Swallow bird with a banner in his mouth saying “Courage” which is very apt for me, but after seeing the angel, it all began to change and I painted over it all with a nice pale blue back ground and went away to await the next weeks lesson. Next week came and we went to the meditation and again into our “Secret garden” and again the angel came, and I was thinking “Okay this is different an Angel??!” and the image I got that time was a pair of hands holding an open bible. So let me tell you.. my painting skills are okish, but there was no way I was going to attempt to paint a bible, and I remembered that my daughter had one from her youth group which I’d kept and it was falling apart, and I remember another artist friend saying “She didn’t mind using Bible pages in her Art she figured that God would be happy for her to share his words” So I took some of those bible pages out and I painted on the hands. I had no idea where this was leading me and I was “going with the flow” so I left it, took a progress photo and awaited next weeks lesson…. next weeks lesson wouldn’t work, and then I tried it another day and all I kept getting was the Angel, the Bible and the hands holding it open… that paintng has never gone a step further.. why? I really couldn’t say!

IMG_0308

I am yet to work out quite what it means and then again maybe I am not meant to, It’s open at 1 Thessalonians which I have not even read yet. But the following week I was inspired by a penfriend to have a go at reading the Bible and that was 1st July 2014. That was when I discovered God. Did he send the Angels because he thought I would scoff and not believe it was “God” Was this painting a visual command from him, “Go read My book!” I don’t know but I was “going with the flow” Since then I have read A LOT and I’ve done LOTS of studies, from books and online sites and different options and I have learnt where to find the answers to the questions that I have. I have made friends with the Local Lutheran Pastor and he has been a great help to me. But I think there’s more I can do so hence “2015- Deeper” I’m going Deeper in my Walking with the Lord, I am going Deeper into my art, somehow there has to be a link.. where? how? what? I’m going “Deeper” to find out. The Painting says “Discover” and it’s kind of like “Deeper” it’s searching for him.

What do you hope brings you joy in the coming year? 

My Discovery of the Lord, my searching for whatever it is and my Art, I am enrolled in a Christian Art class which is called funnily enough “Going Deeper” and they give us a scripture each week and we are to Illustrate it etc etc. I’ll be adding those here to.

What are you hoping for Joy in 2015? 

2 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo December is joy… final December prompt.

  1. Whomever said, “There are no accidents” was probably related to the person who first uttered the words “It’s a God thing”. Sounds to me as though this year was definitely not accidental, and most definitely a God thing!

    I think my joy in 2015 will continue to be centered around my family, my writing, and my papercrafting. Happy 2015! – Fawn

Leave a Reply

