Book reviews begin now….

Bookclub

 

I’ve done it, yay me!! Finished two books for the year! Its day 9! Normally I wouldn’t read two books at once, I feel like you don’t give either boom its full attention, but since I am doing the “Year of reading Australian Authors” I didn’t want to give up my Christian study reading. I need to continue with that I am learning too much, so I broke my own rule and read two.

Christian “Through Gates of Splendour” by Elisabeth Elliot.

image

The unforgettable true story of five men who braved Auca lances and were martyred for the sake of the Gospel. This edition includes a follow-up chapter that will give readers an update on events that occurred in the aftermath of this seeming tragedy.

I first heard about this book from Courtney over at http://womenlivingwell.org

and I thought it sounded good, I have always been a sucker for a good biography or even autobiography, I love reading what others go through and how they overcome things, its kind of like reading someone’s journal. So I searched for this book, its old written in the 50’s and some book reviews I read were not promising, talking about being “old-fashioned” and not being able to relate to it. Maybe I related to it from a wife/mother’s point of view, whatever, I did connect and I did enjoy it. Also I am and always have been fascinated by travel, so learning how these five couples survived in the primitive jungles and made do with limited resources I really enjoyed the book. I quickly read through it because I wanted “to see what would happen next” it’s not an overly long book at just about 245 pages, but it gives the perspective of the different men from notes in their journals and from interviews with the wives, who loved it beside their men, how they raised small children in the jungle while ministering to the “savages” in the jungles of Ecuador, how they had to learn Spanish and then translate bibles from English into Spanish and also into the native language. Really an interesting read. 8/10 from me.


au-writing-pink

The second book, I read is one for the “Australian Authors” book collection, and it was an Autobiography by Kevin Hitchcock, called “Walk with me”

 

image

An Inspirational Story of Courage and Triumph Against All Odds.

Swinging out on a rope over the Hawkesbury River, sports-loving journalist Kevin Hitchcock didn’t have a care in the world. He and his wife and two children were enjoying their summer holidays with the latest addition to their family, five-week-old Kirralyn. Then Kevin hit the water, then the sandy river bottom, then . . . silence. Hours later he is told he will never be able to move again.

The story of Kevin’s refusal to give in to the doctors’ grim diagnosis or to surrender to the depression that threatened to defeat him is truly extraordinary. ‘Walk With Me’ is his journey of survival, of triumph over unbelievable odds. It is a celebration of the resilience of the human spirit that will inspire and uplift all who read it.

Well, this book made me laugh it certainly made me cry, but it also made me appreciate the way we treat people with disabilities. I felt horrified reading Kevin’s words about how people treated him while in a wheel chair, and how people looked at him with disgust, it was a real eye opener. It was also a testimony to true love and family dedication. I wouldn’t get out of bed this morning till I finished the last 30 pages because I just didn’t want to miss the ending. I’m not sure it is the “ending” I am sure Kevin is still struggling with his Physio and his mental demons from the drugs that stop his body from uncontrollable spasms, but I really enjoyed this book, a good find in the library at our caravan park! 9/10

So check back for more book reviews coming soon….

4 thoughts on “Book reviews begin now….

Leave a Reply

