16 Ways to be a good Grandmother..

I just read this article and I wanted to be able to keep it and read it again and again so I thought I’d blog about it.. because lets face it.. being a “Good” Grandmother is not just my goal but I aim to be a “GREAT” Grandmother.. so I’m open to suggestions..

http://paradisepraises.com/16-ways-to-be-a-good-grandmother/#comment-4281

A Tribute to Grandmothers, without whom my life would have been greatly impoverished:

We all have grandmother figures whom we look up to. What can we learn from these grandmothers’ examples that will give us greater impact with our own children, grandchildren and other young people in our spheres of influence? My maternal grandmother spoiled us. Not rotten, but we definitely knew we were special. While at home we only ever got blah (i.e. good for you) cereals, Grandma always had our favorites on hand when we arrived for our summer visit, and we were allowed to choose whichever one we wanted on the next shopping trip! Her big four-poster bed was a special place reserved for reading, snuggled in luxury! From her I learned that a good grandmother

  • makes others feel special without spoiling them
  • makes time to read and snuggle
  • shows more love than frustration

How to be an Exceptional Grandmother www.ParadisePraises.comMy paternal Grandma’s impact on my life extends beyond the culinary and sewing arts, in that, while teaching me those things, she also patiently taught me how to feed and dress the soul. We knew our grandparents had a date with the Lord each morning over breakfast, and often we arrived at their door just in time to hear the final Bible reading and listen to them pray through the list of children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren. Grandma taught me that a good grandmother

  • is joyful in serving her family and is a gracious hostess
  • is meticulous in her responsibilities (Yes, there is a right way to tuck in bedsheets!)
  • delights in simple pleasures and sees God’s object lessons in everyday living
  • actively keeps her mind”stayed on Him”
  • prays for her family regularly

I know that “blood is thicker than water”, but I also know that there may be some reading this who may not be biological mothers, and may feel like you don’t have an influence. You couldn’t be more wrong! Every woman can positively influence those God puts in your path, even if they aren’t any “blood relation”. You may never know the full impact of your example, influence, and love. Grandma Madge was a family friend whose influence made a huge impact on my young life. I still remember her guest room with one end piled to the ceiling with fabric scraps, her fabulous handmade quilts, her special raisin cookies, her gourd water dipper hung by the cool mountain stream a few yards from her house, her flower garden filled with gorgeous hydrangea and bleeding hearts, her concentrated listening to the “important things” a child wanted to share with her, and hearing her prayers for others. From her I learned that a good grandmother

  • has time to listen to the joys and woes of “little people”
  • inspires and cultivates beauty all around her
  • selflessly loves and gives to others, speaking life into them

Grammy is another family friend who has had a grandmother’s influence in my adult life. Grammy has a way of giving straight-talking counsel without stinging, and she knows the secret of encouraging without puffing one up. Though I will never attain to her level of graciousness, hospitality, generosity and pie making excellence, (I do aim to give it my best shot), I have learned from her that a good grandmother

  • holds loosely to this world’s goods
  • knows how to love the unlovely
  • knows how to do the hard things with joy
  • Inspires and motivates others to excellence
  • will stop and pray with you over anything at any time of day or night

Are You a Good Grandmother?

  • What memories or qualities of your Grandmother have made the biggest impact on your life?
  • I never grew up with a Grand Mother, both of mine had died before I was born.
  • What legacy was left to you that you desire to replicate?
  • Well since I never got to meet them, I am making my own traditions for my Grandies as I go.
  • What legacy do you wish to leave behind?
  • I want my grandchildren to be able to look back on their lives and remember all the happy times they spent with Grandma, the Grandma who played on the swings and rode bikes, and danced and baked with them, the grandma that played dress ups and went to kindergarten and school plays, the grandma that was always cheering on at sports days and school concerts. The Grandma that they can always come to with worries and know that I am always on their team!
  • What can you do today to begin being the grandmother you hope to become?
  • Everyday I tell my babies (they are only 15 months old) I love them, all the time, I kiss and hug and I always kiss them good morning and goodnight. We dance around the house, we sing along (OK, I sing and they babble) to all the play school and sesame street songs, and when I am in the kitchen and they want to join me I give them the wooden spoons and a pot or the measuring spoons and cups and let them play.
  • Who has God placed in your life who needs a mother’s or grandmother’s influence?
  • I believe that God doesn’t make mistakes so he gave me two Grandbabies at almost the same time (2 weeks age difference) so that we three can form an enduring love!
  • What will you do to begin making a difference in that young (or younger) person’s life?
  • I think I am already doing that and I know it’s working because my babies are so happy to see Grandma the look of excitement on their faces is immeasurable. When daughter #1 drops of “Squishy” he has no discomfort at her leaving him with me, in fact he’s happy to wave her goodbye!
Leave a Reply

