Saturday…

Saturday is the day of the week following Friday and preceding Sunday. Saturday is the seventh and therefore last day of the week according to many commonly used calendars, and it is the second-to-last (sixth) day of the week according to ISO 8601 The Romans named Saturday dies Saturni (“Saturn’s Day”) no later than the 2nd century for the planet Saturn, which controlled the first hour of that day, according to Vettius Valens. When the day’s name was introduced into English and other Germanic languages, however, the name was selected as a calque of the god Saturn, after whom the planet was named.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saturday

So who knew that? hands up! I had heard of rumors about it being named after the God Saturn, but that’s as far as I knew.

Image result for saturday

In astrology, Saturday is associated with the planet Saturn and symbolized by that planet’s symbol  Saturn symbol.svg

So something that does interest me is Astrology.. I bet you didn’t know that about me… when I was little in the middle of a huge thunderstorm when I was terrified my Dad took me out to the back veranda (we’re Aussie’s its a veranda, the rest of you might call it a porch or back deck, it’s the bit outside your back door, under cover where you can sit and while away the hours peacefully) Anyways Dad used to tell me weird and wonderful stories about thunderstorms and how they were nothing to be scared of and he used to count between the lightning and the thunder if the number was small it was close, he longer the gap the further the storm.. I don’t know if that is correct but it’s his version. Then he used to try to distract me from my fright by telling me that God and the Angels were 10 pin bowling and the thunder was when they got a strike! so many funny things he told me but he instilled my love of storms. Then when the stars were out and the night was bright and in the summer when we used to get a summer and hot weather, we would take our mattresses out to the back yard and sleep under the stars, and he would always be trying to show me the constellations, the southern cross, Orion’s belt and whatever else they were something about a sauce pan.. I never did get it but it never stopped me from listening to my Dad chattering on and on, occasionally we would get a book from the library and attempt to learn more but we never got far, now I think I want to learn more about Astrology. Especially after Easter Saturday we saw the eclipse of the moon and it went Blood Red, then I was told about a book called “Four Blood Moons” by John Hagee, it’s got something to do with biblical predictions and when there are e blood moons… I don’t know I’m not finished it yet… it’s got something to do with Israel and how badly she’s been treated.. which then also begs the question, I need to learn more about Israel.. my son Kit went there for 6 months. I would like to go there for the history and of course the Christianity, but on the other hand I won’t put myself in unnecessary danger with their wars and things either, Oh Kay, I’m a chicken about getting killed in a war!

But I think that I will explore more about Astronomy and Israel for the rest of this year, and also about Jewish people and their beliefs. I even found a Jewish Museum in Melbourne, over the other side of town, I just need to find time to go visit it. They have classes to learn more about Jewish History and beliefs and things, but I can’t get there it would take me about 3 hours t travel there each Tuesday night, even if I were brave enough to go by myself which clearly I am not!


Here is a poem that I like about the days of the week..

Monday’s child is fair of face,

Tuesday’s child is full of grace,

Wednesday’s child is full of woe,

Thursday’s child has far to go,

Friday’s child is loving and giving,

Saturday’s child works hard for a living,

But the child who is born on the Sabbath day Is fair and wise and good in every way.

I had a Tuesday Child… he is certainly full of Grace

I had two Grand babies on Thursday… so I guess we shall see how far they have to go.


Then we have various songs about “Saturday

and the Bay City Rollers… who didn’t love them!!

Chicago sang one about “Saturday” too.

Hillbilly music.. I love it!!

Then there are things that have happened on “Saturday” that gets named a famous one for Australia is

Black Saturday is a day named after the beginning of a tragic bushfire in Victoria, Australia. Bushfire or wildfires are a real threat in Australia when of course we actually have a summer.

  • Holy Saturday is the day before Easter. (the day between “Good Friday” and Easter Sunday)

So What plans do you have for Saturday in your part of the world?

For me Saturday is not a weekend rest day, I still have baby sitting duties and once a month I give my girls a night off to go and hang out with their friends so that is tonight for Sweetpea and Amber.. Amber’s already left home and we have Sweetpea and then about 6.40 pm, Jasmin will come and pick up Squishy for the day. Its been a disjointed kind of day, We (Star son and I) had a 9.00 am Doctor’s appointment, because yesterday The bloke was home sick from work, and I had to take Squishy for a follow-up Dr’s appointment, he’d been on Wednesday for a really bad cough and they took a nasal swab  to check for “whooping-cough” when I went yesterday he said the results were not back yet but to keep him on the antibiotics that he had started on Wednesday. so I came home and assumed all was good with the world… until I got a frantic phone call from Jasmin to say the DR had called her at work and said the results were positive Squishy did have Whooping cough and that the rest of us had to go to the DR ASAP and get checked. So the Bloke took Amber and Sweetpea straight down to be checked out and since neither of them have symptoms they are on precautionary antibiotics. The Bloke however is coughing up a storm, so he was sent for blood tests and the DR is pretty sure he has it. So he’s on antibiotics, this morning the DR pushed us straight in and ordered Will to go for a nasal swab and blood testing to see if that’s why he’s been coughing so much for the past four weeks. I have no symptoms so I am on the cautionary route of antibiotics, then we spent another hour sitting in the waiting room at pathology waiting for Will to get his blood work done… sheesh! Not how I planned to spend my Saturday but then really what else did I have planned? Zip, Zilch, Zero, except chatting with you lovely people via my blog!

So I hope your Saturday is better than mine.. tell me about it!

Leave a Reply

