I have had a busy day..

and I have loved every minute of it.. somewhere around 7.00 am Monday I decided that I was going to paint.. it was my “child free day” and so I did a layer of my “Girl with a pearl earring” oil takes a while to dry so I decided to work on a few of my other courses and each day this week I’ve done a little bit here and there, today is day four!

I was awake super early and got an early start on my Bible Study, Leviticus umm.. somehow I’ve jumped ahead and I’m actually already on 21… hmmm, SHHH! Then I had “Squishy” today so I was up for breakfast and dressing. We did a quick trip down town to get some pasta sauce for tonights Lasagna so I’m pretty close to my 10,000 steps for the day.

Back home, babies had a nap and Grandma got busy… (Then My daughter Jasmin came home from work sick, so she took Squishy home, Amber and Sweetpea went out and suddenly, I had the whole big empty house ALL to myself)

I finished Shonna’s “His Kingdom Come” course which I started over 12 months ago (I really need to learn to date my work)

IMG_1743

I SOOO LOVE this piece.

I took step by step pics I’ll add those in a gallery later. I added bits of a letter from my Mother-in-law and all kinds of “Stuff” to build up the layers including bible pages… there was a big uproar about using “bible” pages in art and then it was decided that we are painting “God’s word” what’s the harm in using some of his printed words? I had an old bible one of the children had from youth group, so I’ve been using that. in respect and not for harm! Don’t even get some of the people started on the “Bible Journaling” class… Oh that one caused an even bigger Uproar.. and honestly, I felt kinda weird drawing in my bible, even though I brought a totally separate bible to use.. I’ve done only one page.. I’m too nervous!

I am so happy to be finally finished this course, but of course now Shonna’s started a whole community of Christian Art, so there’s always something new to do and learn. This little A5 art journal is just big enough to get a piece done in a few hours.

Then a few weeks ago I was looking for a course on “Astronomy” and I googled that (as I do!) and found a free (magic word!) course on a site called “Udemy” So I joined that and then realized they had art classes… Oh hold me back!! Some are free and some you pay for some are one lesson and some are a series of lessons. I signed up for a “Freebie” to see if I like the style of teaching. and let me tell you.. I DO!!!

Here’s what I made tonight.. a watercolour.. I’m calling it “Night time Mountains”

IMG_1750

I never sign my art but I actually signed AND dated this one!

I’m mostly happy with it.. I need more practice so I’ll see what else I can find.. but the instructor, this was her first class and she has a website and it’s a “wordpress site”.. bonus.. visit Patrizia at: https://jelearte.wordpress.com/

In between that.. I am cooing a new recipe… ok it’s a spin on an old favorite.. its Lasagna in the Slow cooker…You’ve probably read about my Star Son’s hatred of the Slow Cooker.. so when he suggested it I jumped at it…

IMG_1744

I have just added the final layer of cheese and it cooks for another 30 minutes..

I am excited, the whole house smells super yummy! So I’ll let you know how the “Star Son” liked it and share the recipe/technique tomorrow. Also a few weeks ago I brought a packet bread mix, I’ve never made bread before, so I thought I’d cheat and start with a packet.

IMG_1746

It’s this one from Aldi supermarket and it smells delish..

 IMG_1745

In the oven

IMG_1748

Cooling on the stove.

IMG_1749

Inside and first slice, and the word from “Star Son” YUUUUUUUUUUUM!!

I really didn’t think he’d like it but I thought it would be a nice change from the usual garlic bread we serve with lasagna.

IMG_1732

Also today, we tried the new Cadbury chocolate with Pretzels and peanuts, I’m excited about new chocolate because they’ve been doing a thing on Facebook asking what you “smash” your chocolate with, some said this one and others said “Vegemite” personally and I LOVE Vegemite, I kind of think that’s weird, but it’s coming out 1st of June so I will taste test it and report to you.. some also sad Avocado. I HATE Avocado, but my Bloke loves it.. so if they make that I will be forced to try that, and let’s face it.. it’s Chocolate really how bad can it be??

IMG_1733

It’s good!! the salty and the chocolate work!

So here’s a gallery of step by step of today’s Art piece which did I mention.. I love?!!

Wanna join us? it’s free.. my favourite word!! http://www.his-kingdom-come.com/ come and register, it’s free, join some classes, some are free and meet new friends and do some fun Christian based art. If you come along and join us, look me up!

2 thoughts on “I have had a busy day..

  1. Keep it up girly 🙂
    I will (one day) post a recipe on how to make your own sour dough bread without yeast or a bread mix. Up to now I have shied away from recipes but I guess that one without photos will do (food photography is not my best skill).
    Why not sign and date your paintings on the back? Or develop a nice signature that blends in well?
    17 days to go, you can do it!

    • Solveig, l would love to see your recipe! I’m not good at food photography but really who cares?!! I normally don’t date or sign my art ( low self esteem, evil inner critic says they’re not good enough, funny she sounds just like the mother!) but from now on l will if only to see the improvement, I am so in love with today’s art! 17 days I can do it!!

Leave a Reply

