Busy Cleansing day…

Every so often you need to have a clean out… sadly I’m one of those far and few between people… I tend to hide it.. out of sight out of mind.. of course that never works really does it? You open a cupboard or a drawer and it’s all sitting there looking at you… awaiting your attention..The last twelve month or actually even longer probably close to two years have been a constant shift and upheaval in my house..

April 2013 we found out that BOTH girls were expecting babies and that BOTH sperm donors had done a runner… lessons learnt about the men we choose… but that’s a whole other story.. I never saw those babies as anything other than the blessings they are “God never gives us more than we can handle” so many clichéd  sayings got pulled out ranging from pity to support and all kinds of things in between and yet I knew deep down that God also doesn’t make mistakes. So I took on the challenge. Amber was living at home at the time so we didn’t have to do too much, we got the baby basic supplies and settled in. Jasmin was sharing a house with friends and so we got all the supplies she’d need and waited for the days to come. I went to all the DR appointments and the Ultrasounds and birthing classes.

I was with Amber when Sweet pea made her grand arrival, I got to hold her first because Amber was not in such a good shape and the Nurse handed me this tiny bundle and said “Here Grandma look after this!” and I did for the first two hours I didn’t let her out of my sight, and that was when the song “Sweetpea” popped into my head and I sang it to her. that was also the time that I spoke to God and vowed that I would never let anything happen to this small girl. Anyways I am getting side tracked, the house and the “stuff” got re-arranged and piled into what was formerly my “Art Studio” spare furniture and spare stuff, just got dumped in there.

Then when Sweetpea was 6 months old, She and Amber left home.. and for a total of two lonely , quiet, weeks the house was clean and it was quiet and suddenly really empty… then along came Jasmin with tales of woe and not enough cash and not coping with sharing with housemates who did NOT have a small baby and so The Bloke suggested that she and Squishy move in for a while to save up some money and get her own place. So more house shuffling, bedrooms got changed, the Study became a nursery and Star Son went into the bigger down stairs room, he’d been waiting to get into that room for the past few years. So there was suddenly two households worth of furniture and spare furniture that had nowhere to go.. so where did it go? into “the junk Room” AKA Formally known as the art Studio.. and all thoughts of art went out the window.

Baby Proof gates were installed to keep crawling rug rats from two flights of stairs and then one day I realized even if I wanted to do “art” there was no room in there to move.. Jasmin and Squishy stayed 6 months, money was saved, a new relationship was started and she was ready to go, but before she even had time to go, suddenly Amber and Sweetpea were back home.

She’d been living with a lying, cheating backstabbing so-called “friend” and as I have since said to Amber “If that is your friend I’d hate to see your enemy” I get a tearful phone call one night and that set alarms ringing, and I told her “come home for a few days, you need a break” so suddenly it was two daughters, two grandchildren and a kitten, all living at home, and more stuff got crammed into the junk room. Two weeks later Jasmin said “I’ve had enough I’m outta here” and they left, while Amber declared “I’m never leaving home again!”

So now almost another 6 months have gone by, we seem to do things in 6 month blocks.. and finally I am getting the junk Room emptied.. and today I went down there for an hour and I decluttered and I cleaned and I opened windows and I played my music loudly and I had a great time! Sometime you just need to do that! I can’t take all the credit, I had some special helpers.. Sweet Pea and her Hippo Hilary came to chat and draw and dance.. that’s about the only “artistic” thing that happens down there these days!

So Yesterday I told you about the ICAD challenge.. which is “Index Card a day” one small piece of creating, with or without a theme.. so here’s whats happened so far..

The other good thing that happened today was I asked Amber to sort somethings in Sweetpea’s room which was formally the study/library, and she was motivated so she kept cleaning, her whole room, vacuuming and all, so then we decided to vacuum the whole house..it lasted about an hour, and then Cyclone Squishy Sweetpea came through and now no one would ever notice what’s been done.

Leave a Reply

