Book Review- Tracy.

au-writing-pink

Bookclub

book review for the book “Tracy” The Storm that wiped out Darwin on Christmas day 1974 By Gary McKay

Taken from Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6060069-tracy

Tracy

On Christmas Day 1974, Australia woke up to the news that Darwin had been flattened by Cyclone Tracy. Only hours before, the town of Darwin was winding down for the holiday season. Like many people that day, Josephine Foreman spent the morning cooking a large turkey for Christmas lunch; Geoff Crane took the opportunity to finish some last-minute Christmas shopping. Reports of an approaching cyclone were taken lightly – after all, the last cyclone had been little more than a storm with a bit more wind. Besides, it was Christmas.

I have been to Darwin and I loved it but you can’t help but know the history of what happened in Darwin and there are reminders every where, in the museum and all kinds of places. I loved this book because I’ve been there and even though I was little at the time (8 yrs old) everyone was aware of what was happening thousands of kilometers away in Darwin. At the time I never imagined one day I would be in Darwin and even when I got to Darwin I never expected to love it THAT much!

I am giving this book 5 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

