The Great Pizza Bake off…

  Last night Tuesday, we decided to make Home Made Pizza. One of the school holidays recently my Star Son had some “homework” he had to “Construct Pizzas” and that included making the base from scratch and then he could chose from a list of toppings and he had to write a report about it. As I normally do I threw myself into that challenge and we had great fun, he made a Hawaiian Pizza and I made a dessert Pizza, with chocolate, marshmellows and starwberries with whipped cream, it was very rich! Here is the post fom then… https://kimlhine.wordpress.com/2014/09/24/school-homework-assignment-school-holidays/
Which I wish I’d found yesterday bcause I made my own pizza bases again but a different recipe.


Rolling out the dough


The Bloke decided to make his version in his Webber Q and I would make my vegetarian (with chicken sausage and chicken meat) in the oven, to see if one cooked better than the other..here they are waiting to be cooked mine is the front one, the Boys had “Meatlovers”

  Chicken and Veg in the oven.
Meatlovers with half egg in the Webber.

So the end result was… The oven semed o cook it quicker, but they both looked and smelled and tasted amazing.

The dough recipe I used was….

NO YEAST PIZZA DOUGH

2 1/2 c. flour
2 3/4 tsp. baking powder (if using baking soda use half and omit salt)
1 tsp. salt
1 tbsp. oil
3/4 to 1 c. water

Mix dry ingredients. add 3/4 cup water and oil. Stir until it forms a ball. If dough is stiff, add more water.
The dough will be soft, not sticky. Knead on a floured surface for 3-4 minutes.
Bake at 400°F for 15-25 minutes.

Sorry I cant remember which website I found it on, I just googled “No yeast pizza dough” l also ( as I typically do) changed the recipe slightly.. I added beet instead of the water, maybe thats why our base was light and fluffly.. Not sure but Star Son gave the pizza base a 10/10 so I won!! He didnt like the Bloke’s topping giving it a 3/10 because typically he just eats Margarita Pizza, I need to work out whats on that and make him his own next time and we didnt have mozzerella cheese, so ours was not as cheesy as a pizza place, next time l’ll invest in some of that. We three all agreed though that we would try making them again and try different toppings, I think the Bloke has a Seafood pizza in mind and I’ll work on some other vegetarian ideas.. So watch this space!

If you make your own pizza dough and its a sure thing, I’d love you to share your recipe with me or even topping ideas!!

One thought on “The Great Pizza Bake off…

  1. Pingback: Neighbourhood – part 1A | s o F a r S o S t u

Leave a Reply

